UK/Rest of World
Find A Stockist

Waterproof Extreme Cold Weather Mid Length Sock

Waterproof | Unisex
£45.00

The original, 100% waterproof, windproof & breathable mid length sock with insulation and temperature regulation, perfect for use in very cold weather conditions.
This product was formerly known as: Trekking Thick Mid Read More...

Top Rated

Key Benefits See all benefits

  • Waterproof - three layer construction for warmth, durability and waterproofing
  • Comfort - Merino wool lining for moisture control, insulation and comfort
  • Support - zonal elastication for added support

Product in stock

Product Code: 11100067007410

  • Waterproof - three layer construction for warmth, durability and waterproofing
  • Comfort - Merino wool lining for moisture control, insulation and comfort
  • Support - zonal elastication for added support
  • Close fit - four way stretch for comfort and stretch fit
  • Anti-Blister - Prevents friction and rubbing which eliminates blistering
  • Comfort - Footbed padding reduces pressure and absorbs shock

The original, 100% waterproof, windproof & breathable mid length sock. The inner lining is crafted from fine Merino Wool to insulate and regulate temperature making this perfect for use in very cold conditions.

  • Outer: OUTER: 90% Nylon, 10% Elastane
  • Membrane: Hydrophillic membrane
  • Inner: INNER: 41% Merino wool, 41% Acrylic, 14% Polyester, 2% Elastane, 2% Nylon
  • Finer than traditional wool with tiny overlapping scales that case each fibre, these scales are hydrophobic (water repellent). Inside it's a different story, the fibre core is hydrophilic (highly absorbant). Merino is therefore a wicking fibre and can absorb and release 10 times more moisture than synthetics. Each fibre can absorb up to one third of its own weight in moisture without feeling clammy or wet to the touch. In our socks and gloves, the moisture is then wicked through the membrane to keep you feeling warm and dry

  • The perfect barrier between you and the most challenging wet weather. Our products are developed in such a way as to give 100% waterproof protection whilst being incredibly breathable and dexterous. Add in varying layers of insulation means we can offer waterproof products for all climates.

  • Sock Length

    The mid length is our staple sock which is perfect for all activities that require equal warmth, breathability and protection

  • Climate Guide

    This product is rated 4 which has added protection and insulation for the extra cold and wet conditions

    Sealskinz Climate Guide Image - Thermal Rating 4

  • Lifetime Guarantee

    This product qualifies for our Lifetime Stretchdry Guarantee

    Sealskinz Guarantee Icon - Lifetime Guarantee

  • Product Care

    Wash At 40C/105F, Low Tumble Dry, Do Not Dry Clean, Do Not Iron, Do Not Bleach

  • British Design & Technology

    Developed with leading technical experts, athletes and designers creating products that perform at the highest levels
    union jack flag for made in britain

Close

ORDERS PLACED BEFORE 2PM (GMT) WILL BE PROCESSED ON THE SAME DAY*

UK Delivery Price Free Delivery
Minimum Spend
Estimate Delivery
Time (Working Days)
Standard Delivery £1.99 £25 3 - 5
Next Day Delivery £3.99 £40 1
Saturday Delivery £8.99 Not Available 1 (Orders Friday before 2pm)

Next Day Delivery is for UK Mainland only and may not be available in some parts of the UK

For international deliveries, see the full international delivery rates table

Waterproof Extreme Cold Weather Mid Length Sock is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 189.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm going to buy another pair or two! This started out because I couldn't find a cover that would fit my MTB, vented, shoes. These socks solved that problem, and now I can wear my favorite walking sneakers in the dead of winter as well. Very happy with this product.
Date published: 2020-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great kit Bought these recently so just to test stood in water for 10 minutes ended completely dry Amazing!!!
Date published: 2020-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Landscape Photographers Best Friend These socks are a decent cold weather sock alone even if paired with water proof footwear. But I find their true benefits lie when used as a two season lite weight trekking/ hiking solution that allows you to leave your heavier boots at home. I like to keep my footwear as lite as possible, (1 pound on your feet is equal to 5 pounds on your back) while still providing comfort and protection. I've waded through above ankle deep water in the low 40's degree F and hiked in temps in the mid 30's with these socks and a lite pair of non waterproof trail runners without issue. I'm all for the 'lite is right' crowd, especially when the 'lite' still keeps me comfortable, safe and dry!
Date published: 2019-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not waterproof Bought these for cold and wet weather motorcycle riding to use with “waterproof” boots I suspected would leak. They worked great for about 30 minutes in moderate rain, then I noticed my feet getting wet, and they remained soggy for the rest of the day (the boots were damp inside but not to the point of standing water). I washed/dried the socks that night but the boots were still wet-again, my feet were damp and cold within 30 minutes. The merino liner did help retain some warmth but it was still pretty miserable. I’ll be sticking with wool socks and boot covers from now on
Date published: 2019-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfekt for winter It is the third time, I bought this socks. All of them are „tipptopp“ (we say in Germany)
Date published: 2019-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Niiice I bought these a month ago and I am very pleased with the quality.
Date published: 2019-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect to keep your feet dry I am a crew rower and we still row on our lake in the winter in the Southern Oregon . Every year I have to deal with my feet getting wet and cold . Not this year! I tried my new waterproof socks and liners and they did it! They kept my feet dry and warm!
Date published: 2019-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm Bought these for my 2 sons who spend hours out in the wet and cold playing and coaching football. Both are delighted and say they are the best present they never paid for!! Excellent quality.
Date published: 2019-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Investment, highly recommended ! Wonderfully warm and dry, like sleeping bags for your feet. I went slightly large as have often shrunk things in the wash, therefore cannot comment on the zonal elastication support, however they are well padded, comfortable and very easy to maintaint. Would highly recommend, well worth the £. True to size.
Date published: 2019-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best socks I own Bought these socks having cold wet feet everyday. Since they have arrived I have worn them every day (bought 2 pairs) and have not had cold or wet feet once, even riding in the minus temps in the dark. Brilliant socks
Date published: 2019-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great socks As a everyday courier, these socks are amazing, they keep you dry and warm. Good job, Selaskinz!
Date published: 2019-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not as expected Worn once for road cycling on a wet rainy day. My feet were completely soaked after about 15 minutes. So not as waterproof as expected ☹️
Date published: 2019-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant! For years I have been put off by the price of those lovely socks and I so wish I had bought them sooner! It is so good to have warm dry feet even in the most extreme weather! I am a keen mountain biker and I’m often out for 6-8 hours even in winter but these socks keep my feet warm and dry! Highly recommend!
Date published: 2019-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent Thermal Quality Bought these a month ago and have been riding in 2 degrees for two to three hours and with overshoes. Feet stay nice and warm. Im a size 11 and they fit well. Very happy with the socks.
Date published: 2019-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fulfulling their purpose nicely Waterproof, wool, relative durability... - good. The only problem seems to be that the waterproofing layer is not very durable and starts to leak quite quickly. Luckily the socks are not useless after that, though.
Date published: 2019-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Essential for the UK winter Bought these for mountain biking as winter is getting started. Great waterproofing and cuff holds well without irritation. Have kept me comfortable and dry over quite a few wet and chilly rides. Absolutely essential piece of kit.
Date published: 2019-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Windstopper So far I've used these with some windproof overshoes in 35 degree F (1.6 C) and they definitely kept the wind off and my feet were very warm. The color design I received is different but I still like them.
Date published: 2019-11-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not warm enough for me My feets get cold. There is no gum at the end of the socks, how it is at the short ones. positive, the feets get dry.
Date published: 2019-11-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not keep your feet warm A lot of money for a sock that does not keep your feet warm and we haven't even had really cold weather yet my advice is avoid
Date published: 2019-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic as always Needed new waterproof socks for this coming winter, these winter socks are warmer that I thought. As always perfectly dry feet even though they are a little to warm this time of year
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great outdoor activities Bought these a month ago,,great for outdoor use such as walking, fishing and all other outdoor activities.
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So warm and good size Used these kayaking great buy, had the smaller ones before but these are better suited for me
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for outdoor activities I ordered 2 pairs right before my travel to Iceland. We had there all kinds of weatherconditions, but my feet have been alsways warm and dry. What else could you expect.
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not just any socks... Sealskinz socks. A friend said he just wanted a pair of socks for his birthday. I thought "no way am I giving just socks as a birthday present". Then he told me the brand. I'd never heard of them. So I checked out the site - I immediately realised why he'd asked for "just socks" as a gift. So the socks arrived. I have to say, they have to be the best socks I have seen or felt. They scream quality. They look hard wearing and 'cool' at the same time. My friend loves them. He does a lot of walking so these will be put to good use.
Date published: 2019-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must buy for heavy snow! I had done several photo trips in 6-10 inch snow and although my snow boots kept my feet warm, my socks would always end up wet because I didn't have a gaiter and my ankle felt freezing cold. With the Sealskinz socks I was amazed by how waterproof they were and how kept me toasty and dry every time.
Date published: 2019-03-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great,but... I bought these socks and have tried them in my bath to first check the waterproofing and was amazed at how waterproof they while still maintaining elasticity like a normal pair of socks. However, these socks are so thick that I don't fit anymore in my hiking shoes, which is the reason why I bought these in the first place. Regardless I'm still willing to give it another shot and get the ultra thin waterproof ones. One more thing, I went with the recommended L size (9-11) but being in between sizes (I'm an 8,5) I feel there was a lot of excess sock in the shoe and therefore not very comfortable. I stuck with the recommendation to go a size up and I feel that if I go for a size M it would be too tight.
Date published: 2019-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cold feet I really thought these socks wwwould work as being diabetic I really suffer with my feet, being a match angler I find myself sitting on my box for 5 hours at a time and I was very disappointed that my feet were freezing after 3 hours even wearing a pair of quality boots with them, £42 was a big and wasted investment for me after reading all the great reviews
Date published: 2019-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what I thought they would do I bought these socks because I thought they would keep my toes warm when riding my bicycle.. There has been no change from wearing 3 pairs of socks..!!! Expensive socks that don’t do the job.
Date published: 2019-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastici. Ho provato ad usarli d'inverno con delle scarpe minimaliste (merrell glove 3) in montagna. Temperatura variava da 0 a +5 C, per circa 20 minuti ho camminato anche nella neve, il resto del percosso su sentieri asciutti. I piedi sono stati per tutto il periodo ad una temperatura confortevole. Al ritorno, dopo aver camminato per 8.00 ore i piedi erano asciutti. Non sono mai stato fermo per cui non so se stando fermo avrei sofferto il freddo. I piedi, nonostante le otto ore di camminata ininterrotta erano in ottime condizioni.
Date published: 2019-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent quality Thick, dry and insulating, I actually wear mine for mountain biking and have, as with my years old ones, worn them with ordinary bike shoes to great effect. My one reservation is that new ones have a rather tight cuff, even on my skinny ankles, which is a bit counterproductive to keeping feet warm. I'm hoping they will give a little over the rest of the winter. That said they're a brilliant bit of kit. Pricey but brilliant. I'd definitely buy again.
Date published: 2019-02-10
  • y_2020, m_1, d_20, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_189
  • loc_en_GB, sid_111161707001, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_sealskinz
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 9.39ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Close

Sign In

Close
Close